The Governor and Company of the Bank of Ireland (The Bank of Ireland) Annual General Court (AGC) 15 June 2011

Bank of Ireland is making the following announcement in the context of its forthcoming AGC on 15thJune 2011.

Bank of Ireland is engaged in an ongoing programme of change including renewal at management and board level.  In the interests of facilitating further board renewal and a reduction in the size of the Group board, the following non-executive directors Paul Haran, Dennis Holt and Heather Ann McSharry are not offering themselves for re-election and will retire from the Board at the conclusion of the AGC.  Reflecting the smaller size of the Board and the balance between executive and non-executive directors, it is appropriate to reduce the complement of executive directors.  Consequently, Denis Donovan and Des Crowley are not offering themselves for re-election to the Group Board.  Both will continue to be core members of the Group Executive.

The Minister for Finance has asked each of the relevant financial institutions to provide a Board Renewal Plan and a Management Renewal Plan, and further changes in governance arrangements, including recruitment of new directors, may therefore arise in the coming months as part of a planned process of change.

The AGC of the Bank of Ireland Group will take place at 11.00am on 15thJune 2011 in the O’Reilly Hall in UCD, Belfield, Dublin 4.


For further information, please contact:

John O’Donovan Group Chief Financial Officer +353 (0) 76 623 4703
Dan Loughrey Head of Group Communications +353 (0) 76 623 4770
Helen Nolan Group Secretary +353 (0) 76 623 4710