Previously Published Data

Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 July – 31 December 2019

For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the tables below. We are required to report total complaint activity (first table) for the period of 1 July to 31 December 2019 and also complaints linked to a payment service activity (second table) for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2019.

Complaint Data Table December 2019
Source: BOI Group Customer Complaints

*Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

To help you put these figures into context:

  • 98.68% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
  • On 74% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
  • On average, average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 24.62% of all complaints we receive inclusive of PPI, this increases to 41.05% when PPI is removed;
  • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 59% of all complaints (inclusive of PPI) within 8 weeks of receiving them. Excluding PPI, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolves 98.5% of complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them;
  • For Insurance & Pure Protection, 99.7% of which are Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaints, we received 3,141.11 complaints for every 1,000 policies currently in force. However, approximately 95% of the PPI complaints we receive are rejected predominantly as a result of there being no evidence that PPI was ever sold;

^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, September 2019

Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 January – 30 June 2019

For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the table below.


Source: BOI Group Customer Complaints

*Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

To help you put these figures into context:

  • 98.44% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
  • On 65% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
  • On average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 32.59% of all complaints we receive;
  • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 98.8% of all complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them.
  • For Insurance & Pure Protection, 99.5% of which are Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaints, we received 1,125.43 complaints for every 1,000 policies currently in force. However, approximately 93% of the PPI complaints we receive are rejected predominantly as a result of there being no evidence that PPI was ever sold;

^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, March 2019

Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 July – 31 December 2018

For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the table below. Please note that this is the first reporting period where we are required to report total complaint activity (first table) and then extract and report complaints linked to a payment service activity (second table).


Source: BOI Group Customer Complaints

Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

To help you put these figures into context:

  • 98.4% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
  • On 64% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
  • On average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 38.15% of all complaints we receive;
  • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 98.9% of all complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them.
  • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 96.40% of payment service complaints within 15 business days of receiving them;
  • For Insurance & Pure Protection, 99.5% of which are Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaints, we received 826.68 complaints for every 1,000 policies currently in force. Approximately 75% of the PPI complaints we received were spurious complaints where no PPI was ever sold. If we remove these complaints then we would have received 206.72 complaints for every 1,000 policies in force;

^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, August 2018