Previously Published Data

Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 July – 31 December 2021

For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the table below. We are required to report total complaint activity (first table) for the period of 1 July to 31 December 2021, and also complaints linked to a payment service activity (second table) for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2021.

Complaint Data Table Dec 2021
Source: BOIUK Plc Customer Relations

*Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

To help you put these figures into context:

  • 96% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
  • On 79% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
  • On average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 46.12% of all complaints we receive;
  • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolves 97.27% of all complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them.

^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, November 2021

Industry Complaints Performance Data

For more information, click the link to view the financial services industry complaints data, published online by the Financial Ombudsman Service in the UK.

Glossary of Terms

To better understand the terms used in this publication please refer to our complaints publication report glossary of terms.

To read this file you will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader, which is available free of charge from Adobe’s Website. Download PDF reader.

Previously Published Complaints Data

Please click the link to see our previously published complaints data.

  • Archive

    Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 January – 30 June 2021

    For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the table below.

    Complaint Data Table 2021
    Source: BOIUK Plc Customer Complaints

    *Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

    To help you put these figures into context:

    • 97% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
    • On 83% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
    • On average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 41.19% of all complaints we receive;
    • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 97.68% of all complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them.

    ^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, March 2021

    Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 July - 31 December 2020

    For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the table below. We are required to report total complaint activity (first table) for the period of 1 July to 31 December 2020, and also complaints linked to a payment service activity (second table) for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2020.

    Complaint Data Table December 2020
    Source: BOIUK Plc Customer Complaints

    *Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

    To help you put these figures into context:

    • 97% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
    • On 81% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
    • On average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 41.37% of all complaints we receive inclusive of PPI, this reduces to 40.21% when PPI is removed;
    • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 97.46% of all complaints (inclusive of PPI) within 8 weeks of receiving them. Excluding PPI, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolves 98.51% of complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them.

    ^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, September 2020

    Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 January – 30 June 2020

    For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the table below.

    Complaint Data Table June 2020
    Source: BOIUK Plc Customer Complaints

    *Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

    To help you put these figures into context:

    • 98% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
    • On 71% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
    • On average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 38.8% of all complaints we receive inclusive of PPI, this increases to 40.5% when PPI is removed;
    • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 90.31% of all complaints (inclusive of PPI) within 8 weeks of receiving them. Excluding PPI, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolves 99.14% of complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them;

    ^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, September 2019

    Complaints Performance Data Publication – Bank of Ireland (UK) plc: 1 July – 31 December 2019

    For more information on our performance in managing complaints (in our UK business) please see the tables below. We are required to report total complaint activity (first table) for the period of 1 July to 31 December 2019 and also complaints linked to a payment service activity (second table) for the period of 1 January to 31 December 2019.

    Complaint Data Table December 2019
    Source: BOI Group Customer Complaints

    *Please note, this data reflects the total time taken to reach a conclusion and we have not deducted time while we were waiting for a customer to reply to us.

    To help you put these figures into context:

    • 98.68% of customers who complained to us were satisfied with the way we handled their complaint and chose not to refer the matter to the Financial Ombudsman Service for independent adjudication;
    • On 74% of the cases that the Financial Ombudsman Service adjudicated on, they concluded that the outcome reached by Bank of Ireland (UK) plc was fair;^
    • On average, average, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc upholds 24.62% of all complaints we receive inclusive of PPI, this increases to 41.05% when PPI is removed;
    • Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolved 59% of all complaints (inclusive of PPI) within 8 weeks of receiving them. Excluding PPI, Bank of Ireland (UK) plc resolves 98.5% of complaints within 8 weeks of receiving them;
    • For Insurance & Pure Protection, 99.7% of which are Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) complaints, we received 3,141.11 complaints for every 1,000 policies currently in force. However, approximately 95% of the PPI complaints we receive are rejected predominantly as a result of there being no evidence that PPI was ever sold;

    ^ Source: Financial Ombudsman Service, September 2019